Fill in the Blank Friday

I’m linking up with Lauren at the little things we do for this week’s Fill in the Blank Friday.

1.  My first memory is  from when I was really young and so small that I couldn’t really go up and down the stairs. I have this hazy memory of climbing down our basement stairs backwards – I can remember the yellow overhead light and the way the carpet and wood felt. I’m pretty sure that “Down On Main Street” by Bog Seger was playing on my parents’ old stereo. Weird, right?

2.  My first love was  my neighbor. He was six years older than me and I had a crush on him from kindergarten til about fourth grade. He was my best friend for a couple years despite our age difference. I saw him recently and he has not aged well – he still lives with his parents. Coincidentally, though, Colin is also six years older than me. I have a longstanding thing for older dudes.

3.  My very first favorite color was robin’s egg blue. Like from the giant boxes of Crayola crayons, you know?

4. The first time I really felt like a “grown-up” was when  I bought my own car. I mean, I didn’t buy it up front — I’m still paying for it, and will be for several years, but I paid the down payment all by myself and negotiated the loan. No more rusty Chevy Cavalier for this adult.

5. The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is  turn my alarm off and go back to sleep. I have to have at least one extended snooze every morning — Colin gets annoyed with how many alarms I set, but I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember. I usually set three or four alarms and go back to sleep a few times before finally getting out of bed.

6. The first CD (cassette tape, record, etc…) I ever bought was Millennium – Backstreet Boys. I think, anyway. The first CDs I owned were Christmas gifts (Backstreet Boys and *NSync) but I think the first one I bought on my own was the second Backstreet Boys.

7.  My first car was  a green 1997 Chevy Cavalier. My grandma bought it for me before I had my license from someone in our neighborhood, and I had that car for seven years. She was a piece, but she got me through a lot, and to be honest, sometimes I miss her.

Leave a Reply

