SNACK ATTACK: Vanilla Stout Beer Floats

Artwork by Erin Flynn

When I was in college my friends and I had this joke that we wanted to start our own drunkard’s soda shoppe where we would serve our signature item, the Beam ‘n Cream, which would be like a root beer float but with Beam and Coke instead. Sounds like a great idea in theory, but in reality I don’t think mixing dairy with whiskey and soda is a good idea for me.

The beer float is a way more practical and delicious combination of booze and ice cream than the Beam ‘n Cream, but I have to admit that I didn’t come up with this one on my own. I stole the idea from Creation Cafe, which may be my favorite brunch restaurant that I’ve found so far in Indy. They have a variety of different beer floats on their menu, all of which are delicious, but today I’m featuring the vanilla stout float.

For this snack you will need:

  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Your favorite stout beer
  • A pint glass
  • A spoon and a straw
Creation Cafe serves theirs with Bells Double Cream Stout and vanilla gelato, but I wanted to try a different beer so I used Breckenridge Oatmeal Stout. You can use any stout beer, though.

1. Scoop some vanilla ice cream into the bottom of your glass. It works best if you use a large scoop at the bottom, but don’t use too much or you won’t have enough room for all of your beer.

2. Pour in your beer–but be careful! Your pouring technique is very important here because when it hits the ice cream it foams up a lot, so make sure you are tilting your glass so that the beer flows onto the side of the glass instead of directly onto the ice cream. This is beer pouring 101, so I hope you would do so anyway…just sayin.

3. Give the foam some time to settle. If you really can’t wait, I won’t judge you if you dive right in through the foam, but for optimum results give it some time to go down and pour in the rest of the beer.

4. Grab your spoon and/or straw and enjoy. I like to stir mine up so that the ice cream mixes in with the beer and then drink it with a straw, but everyone has their own float-drinking method.

Herbert Cadbury approves.

This is an awesome summer drink, and you can make it with any kind of beer or ice cream. The possibilities are endless! Creation Cafe also has a float with Guinness and chocolate gelato, so if chocolate is your thing you could pair your favorite stout with some chocolate ice cream instead.

Leave a Reply

