July Foodie Pen Pals

The Lean Green Bean

If you aren’t familiar with Foodie Pen Pals, it’s this awesome monthly exchange where bloggers and blog readers mail each other packages of delicious food items. It’s a way to try new things and meet new people, and I highly recommend trying it out. I got a lot of good stuff when I participated in June, and my July haul was pretty awesome too.

Marie sent me:

  • Cherry yogurt pretzels
  • Chocolate wafer cookies
  • Snapea crisps
  • Dark chocolate bar with blueberries
  • Two packages of Justin’s all natural almond butter
  • Two different flavors of Raw Revolution bars

I haven’t tried the almond butter or the chocolate bar yet, but everything else was delicious. The chocolate wafer cookies were definitely my favorite, and Colin and I polished off the bag pretty quickly. They were bite size which made them even more addicting and impossible to stop eating once you started. The Raw Revolution bars were a close second — I took them in to work to snack on in the mornings, and they were really chewy, tasty, and satisfying.

Marie also sent me one of her favorite recipes for ricotta cheese since I told her I love cheese. This recipe can be sweetened for desserts or made savory for lasagnas.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 quart whole milk
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • Grated Parmesan cheese
  1. Pour the yogurt into a pan and let it coat the bottom. Add the whole milk and heavy cream. Season with nutmeg and salt.
  2. Bring the contents of the pan to a simmer and let it simmer for five minutes. Don’t stir the pan or disturb it while it’s cooking.
  3. Pour the liquid and solids through a cheesecloth into a large bowl. Allow the cheese to drain for an hour at room temperature.

Thanks Marie! And thanks again to Lindsay for organizing Foodie Pen Pals! Click here to see the other July participants.

2 thoughts on “July Foodie Pen Pals

  1. I keep seeing Justin’s Nut Butters and the Snapeas Crisps in a lot of the penpal packages. I’ll have to see if my supermarket carries them. Thanks for sharing the ricotta cheese recipe! Looks interesting :)

Leave a Reply

