mo money, mo problems

Amy of Coffee & Sunshine, who is one of my favorite bloggers, did a short post a while back about what she would do if she had an extra $1000, $5000, and $10,000 to spend.

Here’s what I’d do.

With an extra $1000 I would…

  • Buy a domain name for my blog and pay Erin to redesign it
  • Get my first tattoo
  • Buy a new camera

With an extra $5000 I would…

  • Do all of the above, except get a much nicer camera
  • Pay off my credit card
  • Pay a professional photographer to take family pictures of me with my parents and sister
  • Buy a Macbook
  • Buy an iPhone
  • Pay off my dad’s cell phone bill for the year
  • Buy a bunch of new pairs of Chucks
  • Use any money left to buy a bunch of CDs and DVDs from my Amazon wishlist (because I live in the stone age and still use CDs and DVDs…)

With an extra $10,000 I would…

  • Do all of the above, and
  • Not know what the hell to do with all that money
  • Rent a car, drive cross-country to California, and go to Coachella
  • Make a couple of big payments toward my student loans
  • Spend the rest on beer

What would you do if you stumbled upon a large sum of money? In reality I’d probably put a big chunk of it into savings, because I’m a dork and am responsible like that. But it’s kind of fun to think about some of the material crap I’d indulge in if I had the disposable cash to do so.

Mostly I just wanted an excuse to listen to this song.

5 thoughts on “mo money, mo problems

  1. I’m not the only one who still uses CDs? This is wonderful news! I mostly just use them in my car, and it’s kind of nice now because you can get used CDs really cheap.

    If I had a bunch of extra money…well, there’s lots of things I’d like to buy, but if I’m being responsible I’d probably throw a huge chunk at my student loans. Stupid, stupid, student loans–always getting in the way of my fun.

  2. I use CD’s in my car sometimes.

    All my stuff would be boring, like paying off debt and buying ALL THE ZEBRA CAKES.

    I’d take a trip with the $10,000 for sure, somewhere in the US.

    Thinking about money I don’t have makes me pouty, though. I’ll go now.

    Lor

  3. option 1:
    with 10k I would convert half into gold and silver, move into an apt. closer to my job, and visit family more often.

    option 2:
    save it all to buy land

Leave a Reply

