June Foodie Pen Pal package

I don’t even remember how I stumbled across Lindsay’s Foodie Pen Pal exchange, but I’m so glad I did. What a brilliant idea — bloggers and blog readers from all over the country (and Canada and the UK) get matched up to send each other packages of food, and then blog about it. If you’re new to Dressed to Chill: I really like food. So I was really excited to get involved with this exchange, and I got a pretty good haul for my first month.

Jessica, who doesn’t have a blog and lives in a small town in Nevada, equidistant from Las Vegas and Salt Lake City, sent me a package of really unique odds and ends, all of which were delicious. She wrapped everything very nicely, and it felt like Christmas opening up each little package.

I got:

  • Organic lollipops
  • Jolly Ranchers
  • Birthday Cake Batter Truffle Chocolate Bar
  • Hummus + Crackers Go Picnic (with edamame!)
  • Cranberry Blast Fruitchia – 100% Natural Fruit & Chia Seed Bar
  • LOOK! chocolate peanut butter nougat bar
  • Yoga supplement packets

Once I had unwrapped everything, I immediately tore open the Birthday Cake bar. Jessica must have been scoping out my blog because she knew that I recently had a birthday, and the truffle bar was a really tasty belated gift. I’ve never had a chocolate bar quite like that before — I guess it had swirls of confetti cake mix in it. It had a sort of crunchy texture that reminded me of toffee flakes, but more sugary. It was delicious and I’m not gonna lie, I ate the whole thing the first day. I tried to save some of it but it wasn’t happening. Birthday cake batter is my favorite.

The next day I took the Go Picnic to work for my lunch, along with the Fruitchia bar as a snack. The fruit bar was really good and I want to get my hands on something similar to snack on at work, because it was probably a lot healthier than the super sweet caramel flavored granola bars I usually eat.

I don’t know if you can see it but the picnic came with multi-seed crackers, a little tube of hummus dip, dried edamame beans, a REALLY delicious trail mix, and a square of dark chocolate. It was a really great lunch.

I keep meaning to take the lollipops and Jolly Ranchers to work to share with everyone, but I keep forgetting. The Jolly Ranchers are like, creamy flavors though, which I’ve never seen before. The lollipops are organic and have some unique flavors like blueberry, mango, and pomegranate.

The weirdest thing that Jessica sent was the yoga packets. At first I thought they were powdered drink mix, but after looking more closely the package instructs to dissolve in water, drink, or food — it’s really just to enhance whatever you eat or drink right before (Balance) and right after (Vitality) practicing yoga. I’m not much of a yogi myself, but Gretchen practices from time to time so maybe I’ll let her try them out, or maybe I’ll use them as motivation to sign up for the beginner’s yoga class I’ve been wanting to take for forever.

The Lean Green Bean

Thank you Jessica for my package and Lindsay for organizing Foodie Pen Pals!

You can see all the other June reveal posts here. Be sure to check out Sarah’s blog, The Hungry Panda, to see the package I sent her of treats from Indianapolis.

2 thoughts on “June Foodie Pen Pal package

Leave a Reply

