Cover Songs, vol. 2

It’s time for more of my favorite cover songs. Why? Because it’s my blog, and why not?

“In the Sun” by Michael Stipe and Chris Martin

This song is originally by Joseph Arthur and was re-recorded by Michael Stipe and Chris Martin for a Hurricane Katrina benefit in 2005. One of my best friends put this song on a mix CD she made for me at the end of our freshman year of college, and I got pretty obsessed with it for a long time. It was one of our staples for the long sunny-day cruises that we often took around Springfield and to the rural outskirts of the city. I know people give Coldplay a lot of shit but I love them, and I think Chris Martin has a beautiful voice even if Coldplay is a little gay.

“Heart It Races” by Dr. Dog

I always knew this song was a cover but I never knew that the original was by Architecture In Helsinki until I started researching for this post. The original is preeeetty weird, and I definitely prefer Dr. Dog’s version–it’s just so dang catchy! I love the clap trap and it’s hard for me to listen to this song without dancing a little bit.

“Money” by Easy Star All Stars

In my last cover songs post I included a Beatles cover by Easy Star All Stars, and I wanted to share a Pink Floyd song too, from their reggae cover album Dub Side of the Moon. What a brilliant idea–reggae versions of classic rock and roll albums. I love it. They also covered Radiohead’s OK Computer (their version is called Radiodread), but I never got that into Radiohead (I know, I know) so I stick with the classic rock covers, all of which are pretty damn good.

“Lovefool” by New Found Glory

New Found Glory has an EP and an album dedicated to cover songs from movies, which I think is awesome. Their EP, From the Screen To Your Stereo, was released in 2000 and covers some classic 90s cinema songs like Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing” and Celine Deon’s “My Heart Will Go On.” The songs are pretty hilarious, but Jordan Pundik’s voice was super whiny back then so those songs are kind of hard to listen to. New Found Glory definitely polished up their sound over the years, and 2007’s From the Screen To Your Stereo Part II is much more listenable. This cover of a CLASSIC 90s song by The Cardigans is probably my favorite, with their cover of Sixpence None the Richer’s “Kiss Me” coming in at a close second.

“Come On Eileen” by Save Ferris

I’m really not a very big fan of 80s music, but I’ve always loved “Come On Eileen.” It’s just so stupid and catchy. Save Ferris’s ska version is just as stupid and just as catchy, and I like it even better than the original.

“D.Js” by No Doubt.

So back in the day before No Doubt got mainstream, and way, way before Gwen Stefani went solo and started sucking ass, she and Bradley Nowell were buddies and they sang a duet together called “Saw Red.” If you like Sublime and/or No Doubt and haven’t heard it, you need to check it out because it’s pretty classic. The song itself isn’t amazing or anything, but to me it’s more just the awesome factor of thinking about Gwen and Brad being like “hey, let’s do a song together” and seeing Gwen jump up on stage to sing it with them at Sublime concerts. As a tribute to their friendship, No Doubt covered “D.J.s” on their Tragic Kingdom tour, and it’s pretty awesome. God damnit Gwen, you used to be so cool! What happened to you?!

If you like cover songs as much as I do, you should also check out my first cover songs post and share your favorite cover song in the comments.

One thought on “Cover Songs, vol. 2

Leave a Reply

