the Facebook game

I took this idea from Nova, because why not?

Rules:

1. Post your first ever Facebook profile picture
2. Pick one photo from each consecutive year up to the present one
3. Explain

2006: This photo was taken in Tomahawk, Wisconsin at a bonfire at my friend Joe’s house. I had just graduated from high school, and three friends and I road tripped the 13 and a half hours from Granville to Tomahawk to drink excessively in Joe’s basement for nine days. It was a lot of fun, and I’ve always liked this picture (as you can tell, since I  use it on my About Me page for this blog). I think it captures my essence pretty well.

2007: So what I discovered while making this post was that all my really good profile pictures are from 2007, so it was hard to choose a photo from that year. This one is pretty iconic as far as 2007 goes, though–it’s me and Gretchen on our Bid Day in January. We are sooo excited that we just joined a sorority! You can see my eyebrow ring, and that’s totally not a can of Natty Light, because I’m only 18….

2008: This is me on the I amsterdam letters behind the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. I studied abroad there the fall semester of my junior year, and it was amazing. A few friends and I went to Museumplein one day after class to take pictures on the city slogan monument, and as you can see by me laughing hysterically as I struggle not to fall on my way back down, I’m not enough of an acrobat to be climbing shit like that.

2009: Fall semester of my senior year I took Badminton as a class to fulfill one of the 2 PE credits that Wittenberg requires. Hilarious, right? My other PE credit was Bowling and that was also awesome. But two of my friends were in my Badminton class so we made it a thing with our friends for a while. Tina brought her badminton net from home, and we set it up in her backyard and played our variation of the game: Beerminton. The only rule is: you must have a beer in your hand at all times. It was fun for nice weather afternoons.

2010: This is Colin and me in the really weird Indian restaurant we went to with Daniel and Gretchen when I visited NYC for the first time. We were supposed to go to S’mac but were too tired/dumb to find it, so Dan took us to an Indian place that he likes. There were LOTS of Christmas and chili pepper lights, and Colin was too tall for the low-hanging decorations. We both hate being photographed so we made dumb faces.

2011: This is me and Gretchen in Boston. We went to visit some friends of ours, and it was really, really hot. Right before we took this picture we went to a cool bar/restaurant, but the dining experience was not-so-cool because the bartender was playing his iPod while he was stocking the upstairs bar, and we had to listen to “Fuck You” by Cee Lo Green like 11 times in a row. We also saw some seals at the aquarium and ate a Boston Cream Pie, because obviously.

2012: This is literally the only picture that has been tagged of me on Facebook so far this year. I don’t use Facebook that much anymore, and I don’t like having my picture taken, so it happens. This is me volunteering as a bar cashier at the Indiana Youth Group art auction. IYG is a really awesome organization, and this event was a lot of fun–Sun King brewery donated two mini-kegs, and a couple of my friends (including Erin) donated artwork to be auctioned.

 

On Monday I went to a mini blogger meetup with Erin, Anna, and Violet, which was so cool. I was really nervous because I’m super awkward around new people, but Anna and Violet were both really cool and Erin and I shared a delicious pizza and also had delicious beers. Check out some of the awesome pictures that Violet took of us at Bazbeaux Pizza in Broad Ripple. She’s like a legit photographer! And there’s me covering my face, because like I said, I don’t like having my picture taken.

I hope you all had an okay week.

2 thoughts on “the Facebook game

Leave a Reply

