Oh My God: on guilty pleasures

Be still my seventh grade heart.

What in the fuck are the Madden Brothers even doing? This video is so unbelievably perplexing to me–I’m having a hard time grasping the fact that Joel and Benji Madden still exist in the public eye, and I had never heard of Machine Gun Kelly until I saw this video. But this is the kind of shit that I would have SWOONED so hard over as a teenager. Skinny white boy in a backwards hat? Madden twins looking edgy in a pleasing, cookie-cutter fashion? Lots of swearing and a melodic chorus about being different and misunderstood? Yes please. That was right up my early-teen alley.

I think I started getting obsessed with Good Charlotte around seventh or eighth grade, on the tail end of my Korn/Limp Bizkit/Eminem phase. As much as I’m not proud of the fact that I was that girl who used to show up to Good Charlotte and The Starting Line concerts with my parents before I had a driver’s license to take myself to Columbus, my pop-punk obsession is a lot easier to live down than my mainstream heavy metal one. I mean, I actually liked Kid Rock at one point in my life, so the mild embarrassment at the memory of the Good Charlotte hoodie that I may or may not have worn up until my freshman year of college is nothing compared to how hard I cringe thinking about my old Korn “i’ve got issues” babydoll t-shirt.

I had a rough time coming of age, okay?!

The point, though, is that there is enough of my fourteen-year-old wannabe-rebel Good Charlotte-loving self left in my present day 23-year-old self that I still love this motherfucking song. I was nuts about Benji and Joel Madden back in the day, and though I have minor qualms with their current pseudo-celebrity status, I have to lean back and give them silent props for achieving their very clearly stated lifelong dream of selling out.

It also makes me laugh a lot that they look completely indistinguishable in this video (aside from Benji’s neck tattoo, which only the eye of the keenest Madden twin aficionado would catch), but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t regrettably attracted to their tattoos, torn sleeves, and wayfarer sunglasses. But honestly guys…everyone knows you’re identical twins–aren’t you a little old to be dressing alike?

Machine Gun Kelly is also hot in his own skin-crawling kind of way. How can you not love him? I mean seriously.

Full disclosure: I don’t know jack shit about rap music, but this guy seems talented–and he’s only 21! Maybe I’m more inclined to like him because he’s from Ohio, but this song seeped into my dome cube, and I’ve been itching to buy his album ever since I first stumbled upon his YouTube channel and started listening to all of his self-recorded songs. This video makes me like him particularly because of the point in the middle where the song stops and Kel speaks plainly to the camera:

“I just want everyone out there to know…that none of this equipment is even plugged up, and that he really does not know how to play the guitar.”
–“Not a mothafuckin’ lick!”

It’s like you can kind of hear the Ohio twang in his voice–a dopey drawl that reminds us that he was born in Texas, even though he claims Cleveland as his home city. The truth of the matter, though, is that the stark difference in his speaking voice and rapping voice probably has little to do with Texas or Ohio, and more to do with the fact that he lived the first four years of his life in Egypt and learned to speak Arabic before English. Say whaaat?! Who IS this kid?

Oh yeah. Seventh grade Lynsey would have been all over this.

In any case, “Oh My God” is my guiltiest pleasure currently, and if you also loved pop punk and Eminem in middle school, you might want to check out Machine Gun Kelly and the new mix tape by The Madden Brothers. If not…then don’t judge me, because I have no shame.

2 thoughts on “Oh My God: on guilty pleasures

  1. You decidedly put a new spin on a topic that’s been written about for years. Magnificent stuff, just great! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think, thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well.

Leave a Reply

