Dressed to Chill in 2011

It’s weird that I’ve been writing this blog for a year and a half now. I’d like to think I’ve come a long way since my first self-deprecating post in August of 2010, but that may or may not be the truth. If nothing else, the tone of my writing has changed significantly because I’m not wallowing in heartbreak and self-loathing anymore, so that’s an improvement, I’d say.

For shiggles, here is the best and worst of Dressed to Chill over the past year.

continued the quest for epic sweats and wrote about my love/hate relationship with my first big-girl job, and the crazy-ass people I worked with.

went to a screening of Red State with Colin and attended a Q&A with Kevin Smith. Major bucket list achievement.

stayed sober on St. Patrick’s Day for the first time in four years, because I’m like an adult and stuff.

tried to start a weekly blog column with Tim where I wrote about The Afghan Whigs, All the President’s Men, and the SCUM Manifesto by Valerie Solanas. Then I guess I lost interest. (Sorry Tim.)

wrote profound rants about the nostalgia I felt for college, and finally started to feel comfortable with moving on from my college friends and college boyfriend.

started doing Things I Love Thursday posts, inspired by Nova of four-eyes rella.

wrote a story my dad told me about my grandparents and talked about my (still unfulfilled) writing goals. I also submitted a nonfiction piece to a writing contest for Toasted Cheese. I didn’t win, but entering the contest was a big step.

visited Allison in Philadelphia over the Fourth of July.

got a new job and wrote about how much I despised my boss at my old job.

participated in Mary Rebecca’s Blogging Worldwide linkup.

wrote about visiting New York City for the first time, even though the trip actually took place in 2010.

finally got to go to a Guster concert.

made my first-ever vlog about thrift store and yard sale shopping for my new apartment.

moved to Indianapolis and got an awesome new job.

wrote a Halloween guest post on Mary Rebecca’s blog about my top five favorite scary movies.

shared my pictures from Sinterklaas Day in Amsterdam.

met up with a blogger friend. Another bucket list achievement.

had the pleasure of trading blog sponsorship with three of my favorite bloggers: Mary Rebecca, four-eyes rella, and eef-etc.
It’s been an okay year. Not the best, but not the worst either. I’m much happier now than I was at the turn of 2011, and I’m thankful for that. I think 2012 is going to be a good year.

2 thoughts on “Dressed to Chill in 2011

Leave a Reply

