songs that make me feel good

I’ve been thinking about doing a post on the definitive list of my favorite songs from the past year, but the list I made turned out to be a lot longer than I realized, so instead I’m narrowing it down to a top ten list of my favorite feel-good songs from August 2010-August 2011. These aren’t necessarily songs that came out in the past year, they’re just songs that I got obsessed with during that time frame and that made me feel better during a time when I was otherwise feeling pretty shitty.

This was inspired partially by NPR’s Songs That Make You Feel Good, which I stumbled across via Just a Titch.

Top 10 Songs That Make Me Feel Good
Aug. 2010 – Aug. 2011
(in no particular order)

1. “Heart It Races” by Dr. Dog

Gotta love songs with clap tracks. This song just makes me want to dance.

2. “Let’s Go Surfing” by The Drums

Similarly, I love songs with whistling. This is a great summer song, but also a great all-year-round feel-good song.

3. “Missed the Boat” by Modest Mouse

This song reminds me of college, and the fact that I miss it and my friends. But in a happy way.

4. “This Is the Life” by Two Door Cinema Club

If this is the life, then who’d argue?

5. “Friday I’m In Love” by The Cure

I remember I heard this song on the radio one day when I was feeling bummed out, and it cheered me up immediately. It always makes me feel cheery when I listen to it now, particularly when I’m rocking out in my car. Click here to see the actual video (sooo 80s).

6. “Fatalist Palmistry” by Why?

This song is fun to sing along to, partially because of the weird-but-awesome lyrics. It made me feel better about feeling crazy when I was going through the bad breakup last summer.

7. “Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)” by Arcade Fire

The Suburbs has been one of my favorite albums this past year, and there are a lot of songs from it that I really love. But Sarah Neufeld’s voice is just so awesome on this one, and even though it’s kinda cliche, I feel like I relate because I know what it’s like to live in the sprawl (aka Springfield, Ohio).

8. “Animal” by Neon Trees

Okay, okay, I know this song is so stupidly catchy and cliche to the point that it’s pretty annoying, but I still love it. I can’t help it. It’s got the clap track, and I’ve always been a sucker for catchy pop rock. Also it makes me laugh every time I hear it because the singer kind of sounds like Home Star Runner when he sings that line, “Take it easy, only I’m afwaid you’ll never satisfy…”

9. “Home” by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros

Remember what I said about songs with whistling? But also, just fuck, this was my favorite song of the past year, even though sometimes it makes me just as sad as it makes me happy. Click here to see the actual video.

10. “Cinnamon” by The Long Winters

I could only find live versions of this song, except for this lame video someone made for film class. Just…close your eyes and listen, because the video is stupid, but the song is amazing.

2 thoughts on “songs that make me feel good

Leave a Reply

