happy anniversary, DTC

Tuesday was the one year anniversary of this blog. I was going to do a post about it, but I was really busy that day because I had a doctor’s appointment in the morning and then I had to um…nap…after that, so it just didn’t happen. Plus, the more I think about it, the less I really want to draw attention to the fact that I’ve had this blog for a whole year because I feel like I don’t have much to show for it. Don’t get me wrong- I’m grateful that anyone reads this thing at all, and to the few of you who do- you fucking rule. But I look at other blogs I read that have only been around for a year that have like a thousand followers and are getting press passes and book deals and I’m like, shit…

Whatever. Dressed to Chill has come a long way from my first post, and we’re still chugging along. It is what it is. Maybe someday people will actually read this thing, and follow me on Twitter, but if not, then fuck ’em.

One cool thing about WordPress is that it shows me how many times people view my blog every day, and how they get to the site, including search terms that led them there. I want to take a minute to point out my top 10 favorite search terms that have led people to this blog.

  1. “man’s buttcrack”
  2. made for me 2 look amazing clothing
  3. what does a guy mean when he says wah in a text
  4. saggy udder
  5. drunk girl sleeping, passed out
  6. snoogans
  7. sexy cow udder
  8. cows wearing clothes
  9. fuck while i am dressed
  10. http://www.pube36.com

Okay, I want to take a minute to talk about this. I’m a little offended, and just generally disappointed, that “man’s buttcrack” has somehow generated four hits to my blog. I don’t understand this, but I think it has something to do with Big J, and that just makes me loathe him even more. He is still haunting me, even after I’ve been gone from that shit job for three weeks!

As for the others of these…I don’t even know. The cow thing is a little unsettling, but I’m going to go ahead and assume that it’s because of the time I posted a picture of myself wearing a cow costume for Halloween. But “fuck while i am dressed”? The hell? As Colin pointed out, it’s entirely plausible that this led someone here because I use the word fuck a lot, and because the word dressed is in the title, but still. I don’t like it.

And for the record, I did not go to http://www.pube36.com to find out what it is. I don’t even want to know.

The search terms I really love, though, are the ones that actually have my name, as though someone was genuinely internet-stalking me because they wanted to read my blog for real! People have actually searched for “dressed to chill lynsey” and “lynsey smith wordpress,” and in a desperate attempt to find me on Facebook “lynsey smith ohio facebook.” It’s possible that some of these people were looking for a different Lynsey Smith, since there are about a million of us, but I’m going to pretend that they intended to stalk me, and that they weren’t too disappointed when they ended up here. Then I get creeped out when I see that people are Googling “gretchen and lynsey,” but I’m pretty sure that was actually Gretchen.

This post was inspired by Pretty Girls Poop Too, who have a much longer list of even more bizarre search terms that have led people to their blog. They also have a picture of Michael Jackson drinking vodka with midgets. Whaaa?

2 thoughts on “happy anniversary, DTC

  1. Two things: 1) “what does a guy mean when he says wah in a text” is the FUNNIEST THING EVER and 2) where are all these udder references coming from?

  2. i don’t think i have ever googled “gretchen and lynsey.” WHO IS GOOGLING US? probably the same people who thought of us as their Favorite Freshmen. and i can’t believe you’ve been at this for a year while i sat around drinking and failed to get the ball rolling on The Cubicle Chronicles.

Leave a Reply

