put some music on while I pour

I would say that I like Christmas and the holiday season an average amount. I really really like looking at Christmas lights and eating cookies, but I’m not wild about things like baking or putting up decorations because I’m lazy. I like Christmas music when I’m in a particularly festive mood, but I get sick of hearing the same crappy holiday tunes over and over again every time I go in a store.

So I’ve decided to create my own essential guide to holiday music. I want to provide the disclaimer that I don’t know shit about music, and since I’m constantly reiterating how lazy I am, you should know that I also won’t spend too much time or effort researching Christmas music, because in addition to being lazy I’m also a creature of habit who prefers to stick to what I know. Which, unfortunately for anyone who has lived with me or will ever live with me in the future, is Hanson’s Christmas album.

This album is by far my favorite Christmas album of all time. I won’t dwell on it, because many people will not be persuaded to listen to Hanson no matter what the circumstances are, but just suffice it to say that for nostalgic reasons this will always be my #1 when it comes to Christmas music. NO SHAME! Favorite tracks are Silent Night Medley and the cover of the Beach Boys’ Little Saint Nick.

Something else I’d like to share is a list I’ve made of my Top Five Angsty & Emo Christmas Songs. Because what better time to draw attention to your own angst than when everyone else is filled with holiday cheer? I’m not a grinch or anything, but sometimes Christmas makes me really depressed. Especially this year, since last Christmas was around the time that I really started digging my ex boyfriend. I won’t get into that, but I’ll just say that it has been a rough holiday season this year, and I don’t expect it to get much better as the winter wears on. So here are some emo Christmas tunes to keep my misery company:

Top Five Angsty & Emo Christmas Songs (in order)
5. Forget December – Something Corporate
4. Ex-Miss – New Found Glory
3. I Won’t Be Home For Christmas – Blink 182
2. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Death Cab For Cutie
1. Last Christmas – Jimmy Eat World

I have a huge girl crush on Zooey Deschanel, so one of my favorite Christmas songs is her rendition of Baby It’s Cold Outside with Leon Redbone. But I recently discovered a version of this song that I like even more, which is the one by Rod Stewart and Dolly Parton. I like it better because it’s more classic sounding and a lot less date rape-y. Leon Redbone has that James Earl Jones thing going, and his voice is just so insane that I get these images of this creepy, deepvoiced man trying to take advantage of Zooey, and I don’t like that. The Rod Stewart version is easier to stomach because honestly, who would try to rape Dolly Parton? And even if someone tried it would probably be impossible because she could just smother them to death with those tits of hers. But because Zooey is awesome and so is Conan O’Brien, you should also watch this video of Conan jamming to “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” with She & Him.

Another holiday classic that never gets old for me is the SNL song by The Lonely Island with Justin Timberlake- Dick in a Box. I think this video is hysterical. I especially crack up at the facial expressions of the women, and I like how you can tell that the guys are having a hard time keeping a straight face. Priceless.

And just for good measure, this video always makes me smile:

Here is my Christmas playlist:

You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch – Thurl Ravenscroft (from the original animated movie)
Getting Ready For Christmas Day – Paul Simon
Ex-Miss – New Found Glory
Forget December – Something Corporate
Oi! to the World – No Doubt
Merry Christmas Baby – Hanson
What Christmas Means to Me – Hanson
Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Death Cab For Cutie
I Won’t Be Home For Christmas – Blink 182
Baby, It’s Cold Outside – Rod Stewart & Dolly Parton
Last Christmas – Jimmy Eat World
Blue Christmas – Elvis Presley
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra
Little Saint Nick – Hanson
Wonderful Christmastime – Paul McCartney
All I Want For Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey
Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – Hanson
Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee
Angels We Have Heard On High – Relient K
Run Rudolph Run – Hanson
Baby It’s Cold Outside – Zooey Deschanel & Leon Redbone
Silent Night Medley – Hanson

BONUS New Year’s tracks:
Together We’ll Ring In the New Year – Motion City Soundtrack
The New Year – Death Cab For Cutie
Resolution – Motion City Soundtrack

What are your favorite Christmas songs?

2 thoughts on “put some music on while I pour

  1. Jimmy Eat World’s cover of “Last Christmas” is easily one of my favorite Christmas songs.

    I think you’d like Stars’s cover of “Fairytale of New York.” Or any version of it, really. Also, Robert Downey Jr.’s cover of “River.” Talk about depressing. And I highly recommend “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve” by Rufus Wainwright.

    I think I’m actually missing Snowed In. Or maybe just you. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas season! Visit early next semester?

Leave a Reply

