coffee cake, ice cream, and a bottle of ten dollar wine (oh, and antoine dodson)

Actually, make that two bottles of eight dollar wine.

This is one of my favorite songs ever.

And I’ll probably reference it a lot in this blog because it’s kind of my theme song right now.

But anyway. This weekend I went to Athens to visit Jason, which was a much needed dose of college summer silliness to contrast nicely with my boring new post grad life, in which I never stay up later than midnight and am no longer able to drink more than one bottle of wine in a night. The latter part is probably a good thing because drinking multiple bottles of wine in a night never really leads to anything good anyway, but the point is that visiting Athens and hanging out with Jason is always a good time, even if I can’t drink as excessively or stay up as late as I used to. The weekend involved all of the Athens staples, including coffee at the Donkey, cruising around listening to music, Pita Pit, drunkenly rocking out to Motion City, and hangover food and milkshakes at the Diner. Jason and I talked about politics and we talked about life and our futures, but then we realized that watching InfoMania and the Rotten Tomatoes show was more satisfying than discussing America and how impossible it feels like it is to make a living in this country, so we did that instead.

I don’t really understand a lot of internet sensations and I’m usually not on the bandwagon with most of the YouTube videos that get outrageously popular. I remember the first online video that was ever “sensational” for me was The End of the World, which my friends and I used to be obsessed with in high school, and which I still quote sometimes because I still think it’s funny. But then came Liam Sullivan and those unbelievably stupid (and admittedly pretty funny, but not 67 million-views-funny) videos like Muffins and Shoes that my friends were obsessed with. I tried my best to resist the craze, but in the end I had to give in mainly because the ridiculous extent of their obsession with the videos was a lot funnier than the actual videos themselves. My favorite was always Love Letters, the less popular and less idiotic one of Mr. Sullivan’s videos that actually has a little intelligence behind it instead of just “OMG SHOES.”

Anyway, the point of all this is that Jason and I discovered what is now my NEW FAVORITE internet video while watching InfoMania yesterday, which is Antoine Dodson’s take on the attempted rape of his sister as remixed by Auto-Tune the News. First of all, you have to watch the original interview, which is hilarious in itself, to fully appreciate the auto-tune remix. Jason and I watched both of these about a hundred times yesterday, and I can’t get that damn song out of my head.

Seriously though, I wonder what the rapist thinks about the fact that this video clip is now an internet sensation.

Leave a Reply

